Coronavirus Impact

Coronavirus Impact

This post will be updated as regularly as possible with information regarding the spread of coronavirus, and its impact on school.

School remains open as usual

As advised by the government, school will continue to operate so long as we have enough staff to do so safely.

Yesterday evening, the Prime Minister announced new measures and advice to the general public in relation to Covid-19. The following advice supersedes all previous advice given and should be read carefully.

If your child is well they should attend school.

However, if they present with any symptoms;

• A high temperature and/or
• A new continuous cough

then they should remain at home in isolation for 14 days.

In addition, anyone in the same household should also self-isolate for 14 days regardless of whether they have symptoms themselves.

Moreover, any child who presents these symptoms at school will be isolated and parents will be called immediately.

Also, it is advised to stop non-essential contact with others and to stop all unnecessary travel. The Prime Minister also added that ‘We need people to start working from home where they possibly can. And you should avoid pubs, clubs, theatres and other such social venues.’

Parents are advised to read the government’s guidance on staying at home in the case of suspected coronavirus infection.

Full details are available here:

https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/covid-19-stay-at-home-guidance/stay-at-home-guidance-for-people-with-confirmed-or-possible-coronavirus-covid-19-infection

Otherwise, activities will continue as normal until such time as the government advice changes. 

It will not be possible for teachers to provide work for pupils to complete if being isolated at home, but you are encouraged to make use of the available resources via the links we have detailed at the bottom of this page.

In school, we will continue to encourage regular handwashing, and the use of tissues to ‘Catch It, Bin It, Kill It”. Any further available information will be provided on this page as and when it is available.

Up-to-date information on the actions taken by Public Health England is available on their website:

https://publichealthmatters.blog.gov.uk/2020/01/23/wuhan-novel-coronavirus-what-you-need-to-know/

 

Useful links to support your child with learning from home:

BBC Learning: www.bbc.co.uk/learning/coursesearch/

Futurelearn: www.futurelearn.com

Seneca: www.senecalearning.com

Blockly Games: https://blockly.games/

Scratch: https://scratch.mit.edu/explore/projects/games/

Ted Ed: https://ed.ted.com/

Mystery Science: https://mysteryscience.com/

National Geographic Kids: https://www.natgeokids.com/uk/

Crash Course Kids: https://www.youtube.com/user/crashcoursekids

Crest: https://www.crestawards.org/

Tinkercad: https://www.tinkercad.com/

Cbeebies Radio: https://www.bbc.co.uk/cbeebies/radio

Nature Detectives: https://www.woodlandtrust.org.uk/blog/2020/03/nature-detectives/

Oxford Owl for Home: https://www.oxfordowl.co.uk/for-home/

Big History Project: https://www.bighistoryproject.com/home

World Geography Games: https://world-geography-games.com/

Blue Peter Badges:

https://www.bbc.co.uk/cbbc/joinin/about-blue-peter-badges

http://thekidsshouldseethis.com/

https://thecrashcourse.com/

https://www.duolingo.com/

The Artful Parent: www.facebook.com/artfulparent/

https://www.redtedart.com/

https://theimaginationtree.com/

http://toytheater.com/

https://www.twinkl.co.uk/